Looking for some creative inspiration for your promotions? Find and suggest ideas for marketing and building your affiliate campaigns.

"FTC Crack Down on "fake reviews'"-opinions please

PremiumMember
gmanfu
Trust:

"FTC Crack Down on "fake reviews'"-opinions please

Hey Guys,

The email text below is from Jeff Johnson about "review sites" warning that the FTC is cracking down. I'm still pretty new to the IM world, so I'd love your opinions on this. Is he making a "mountain out of a mole hill"? Just curious, as I'm off to build my first review site. Thanks, to everyone in advance. I'm loving this program.

Begin quote:
"Do NOT use the "fakereview blog" techniques there were showing in their pre-launch videos.

I have never used fake review blogs to sell products...

And neither should you because the FTC is going after people who set up "fake review blogs" to promote products.

The FTC is also cracking down on the use of testimonials in advertisements and on salesletters... there have always been rules, but they are being more aggressive about enforcing them these days.

Even the FDA warned Cheerios that they have to either remove those "lowers cholesterol" studies from their box, or register Cheerios as a drug with the FDA. Cheerios as a drug... that would be funny if anyone other than the FDA said it.

The moral of the story is... be careful about everything you do online, and don't ever use a fake review blog to promote products......

Enjoy!

Jeff Johnson "

End quote, some non-relevant text was removed from the email.
xenopus
Trust:
I guess the moral of the story could just be "don't lie and scam people in buying your stuff"..

I don't see anything wrong with acting against fake reviews personally. There's too much fake stuff going on already in my opinion in the online marketing. Most people don't seem to care how they sell their stuff. It's what keeps bothering me when trying to choose a niche.
For a sceptical view on things:

PremiumMember
gmanfu
Trust: