Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

PHP menu?

laterales
Trust:

PHP menu?

Hey everyone :D

I read a post a while back that Sean started, about setting up a menu in PHP so that you only have to include some text and update that, rather than have to change every page when you add to your site.

Sean did you have any luck with that?

Does anyone know of a (preferably free) guide to setting that up? Or has anyone got any ideas of what I can do so that every time I add a page to my site I only need to change one page? I am completely self taught when it comes to web design (it probably shows) so it needs to be fairly clearly explained.

Thanks!
Site Admin
markling
Trust:
Hey laterales,

We wrote a big article on this in the February Affilorama Update magazine, in the "Ask A Geek" section. It also talks about using PHP includes to silo your site. That should give you a good place to start.

Regards,
Mark
Limited time special - Pathway to Passive for $37: https://www.affilorama.com/pathwaytopassive

PremiumMember
chatyak86
Trust:
You need 2 files.

Your HTML pages and your menu page.

1) Copy the menu code you have now (the html part) and paste that into a completely blank page.

2) Save that blank page as navigation.inc

3) Where your menu was in your HTML page.... delete all of that code.

4) In its place.... put this....

<?php include("navigation.inc"); ?>

5) Save the page as .php

6) Now all you have to do is put that 1 line of php code into any php page where you want your menu to appear.... when you need to update the menu for the entire site... simply change the code in the navigation.inc file.

PS: Keep in mind if you have folders and subfolders and pages of different levels in your site... you cannot simply use <?php include("navigation.inc"); ?> because it won't be able to find the file. What I suggest is to do this...