Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

how can I stop 404 errors

PremiumMember
anamicothran
Trust:

how can I stop 404 errors

I am new to internet marketing and this is my first site that I have built.

When I first created the site I didn't have my keywords in the category or article names.

So when I figured out that that was not the best for seo I went in and changed readjusted and restructured how my site flows and looks.

When I go to my site everything works beautifully.

But my seo plugin keeps showing me 404 errors and it says the google bots are the ones who found them. These pages have been re-named and it wasn't up long enough for anyone to really even know about it.

So why do the google bots keep finding these errors?

I installed a redirection plugin and went thru and redirected all the 404 errors to the current corresponding page but it keeps finding more and more up to 19 at this point

Some of them have a /feed at the end which is nothing I ever even created... I don't think..

Is there a way to completely rid myself of these past page url's and stop the 404 errors?

Thanks in advance for your help!
PremiumMember
jimcoe
Trust:
Those ".../feed" are the built-in feed system for those who subscribe to your RSS ("Real Simple Syndication") feed. If redirecting those, keep the "../feed" ending of the URL the same.

By the way, the "Feedburner" service is much better than the WordPress built-in feed system (see the latest blog entry here at Affilorama, "How to Profit from RSS Scrappers").

You should have a free Google Webmaster Tools account. In there it will list your failing links (from the past) and let you click on each and test it and mark it as fixed. That should stop the Google error reports, I think.