Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

How bad is my site

janice123
Trust:

How bad is my site

Hi, I am a total newbie. I have been building my site for 3 months with 30 thousand visitors but no one is clicking on any thing therefore no sales. How bad is my site http://janiceathome.com Please be very honest I need to improve my site. Because what I have is not working.

Thanks. All the help is appreciated.

Regards Janice
cleverfoxy
Trust:
Well, I wish you share some tips on how you've got 30000 visitors on your 3 months old site!
towerone
Trust:
Hi Janice,

I just took a quick look at your site. First off are you certain about your 30,000 visitors in 3 months? From what I can see you are getting around about 150 visitors a day.

The second thing I notice is that your site key words are very general ...

"women, wife, girlfriend, mother, special person, traditional, unique, romantic, personal, shopping online, flowers, jewelry, candles, candle holders, baskets, perfume, crystal, chocolate"

So for example, someone searching for 'flowers' may land on your site but they may be looking for the name of a particular flower's name rather than to buy flowers. You may want to try changing your keywords to something more specific like 'anniversary gift ideas' or 'buy anniversary gift', .. ( I have not checked these keywords but I hope you get the idea - they indicate an intention to purchase).

Thirdly I would also drop the adsense and other raft of links you have in there. They just confuse and to be honest if you do the math you will never get rich on adsense. One site for one purpose!

Lastly, have you thought about splitting the site into several micro sites - each specializing in a particular gift area such as candle holders, jewelry, perfume etc ? It may improve conversions.

Just some random thoughts!

Cheers
janice123
Trust:
Hi,