Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

H1 Tag Problem

foxracing_honda_38
Trust:

H1 Tag Problem

hey guys!

I'm putting together my first affiliate website using WordPress and decided to run it threw the traffic Travis analyzer only to have it fire back at me saying that each page has to many h1 tags,is this a problem ? I'm no professional when it comes to knowledge on tags by any means or a coder so i wouldn't have a clue how to fix it if i needed to, help would be much appreciated
PremiumMember
jimcoe
Trust:
Traffic Travis is right - the "Rule of thumb" is only 1 "h1" header tag per page. "H" tags create text headers. Headers are an important visual element - to break up your blocks of text into easy to scan smaller blocks.

The easiest way to spot header tags is to go into the WordPress editor's "HTML" view, where you can see all the (normally invisible) HTML "tags" which make a web page work. All the tags that look like:

<h1>Some text inside a main header</h1>

...are your h1 tags. You may also have less important <h2>, <h3>, <h4> and so on tags. Just delete both the start "<h1>" and the end tag "</h1> for the h1 headers you don't want, then refresh your page.

If you're afraid of the HTML view (it's an important tool and you should learn a bit about HTML and make use of it), you can stay in the "Visual" editor view and just run your mouse over your bold text to select it, then look at the editor button called "Paragraph" to see if it says "H1" and change that back to "Paragraph" (or another header style) to delete the h1 tags..

Background:
You need to realize that people don't "read" online so much as "scan". When they see large blocks of plain text, they tend to skip over them, since display screens have never been easy to read from.