Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Ranked in Google for "tags" not for actual home page. Why?

biswatch
Trust:

Ranked in Google for "tags" not for actual home page. Why?

Hey guys,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I'm a bit new but eager to learn and grow. I made my first site using the Google Sniper system. The product I tried to rank for is called "How To Be An Expert Persuader Review." I've gotten a bit of traffic to my site here and there but not to my homepage. For example, my site is "www.howtobeanexpertpersuaderreviews.com" but the page that I rank for is: http://www.howtobeanexpertpersuaderrevi ... r-review-2.

Basically, I only rank for the section of my site that includes all the tags. It's cool to see my page rank 1st on Google but why the heck is it this page? I would much prefer it send searchers to my home page. That's where all my affiliate links are. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

joshuas
Trust:
How long has it been there? I just did a check and the tag page doesn't rank #1 anymore but on page 3 behind your homepage (page 2) as you would expect. It your site is new sometimes it takes a while before the rankings stabilize as Google discovers links to your pages.

Regards,
Joshua
PremiumMember
jmpruitt
Trust:
no matter how well you do seo, one thing is always important to remember. everything that you do is a suggesstion of relevance. google is under no obligation to rank you for anything.

That being said, with targeted link building and some time, your rankings should stabilize on the right pages.
Do you want to use your online content to Educate others, inspire them to action, and run a profitable business for yourself and your family? I can help you get started
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUvDlGM242pI2D5TUOCWd7A

Site Admin
michellerana
Trust:
Welcome to the forum, Biswatch! :)