Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Do search engines pick up sub-domains as individual sites?

spirit23
Trust:

Do search engines pick up sub-domains as individual sites?

Hey guys!

As I'm quite new to creating an adsense content site aimed at affiliate marketing, I've got a two questions with regard what I think is the most important decision: choosing a profitable market.

1. I want to create sites surrounding medical disease. I heard Mark say in a video, that the longer a site has been around, the greater its chance of getting higher up in the ranks. So... he suggested to buy many domain names and link the sites up as soon as possible, just to make sure you make use of the time...

The problem is, I want to make quite a lot of sites, and have a potential to make alot of site names... but this would be quite expensive, then I had an idea, of buying a single or a few domain names, and make MANY SUB-DOMAINS...

What I'm worried about, is whether the search engines will take the sub domains as single sites (which is what i want), or as separate sites (I'm guessing the former)... so what should I do?

2. Some of the sites I'm competing with have been around for close to 2+ years now- does this mean that the sites that I put up now will have to be around for this long to get up there in the rankings with them?

Thanks so much guys !!! Hope you're all doing well...

Asanka.
PremiumMember
promocode
Trust:
spirit23 wrote:1. I want to create sites surrounding medical disease. I heard Mark say in a video, that the longer a site has been around, the greater its chance of getting higher up in the ranks. So... he suggested to buy many domain names and link the sites up as soon as possible, just to make sure you make use of the time...

Hi Asanka,