Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Competing for low and high search volume keyword phrases

tbamber
Trust:

Competing for low and high search volume keyword phrases

Hey Guys,

To make a long story short I'm new to affiliate marketing, I've been studying it since December of 09 but haven't put anything live yet because I work fulltime and have a family of five with three young children. I'm planning for mid september to have my first site online, and to take the next few months after learning more about online iteractions, analitics, and such.

So, I have a new wordpress site I'm looking to earn some extra cash from, I've done my research and found a profitable niche with clickbank products with gravity's of 167, 64, 54, 39, 35, 31 (all in the same niche) on average. Search results on google, yahoo, and bing all show 4 or more ppc ads for the related niche, and keyword phrases I've chosen. My chosen keyword phrases are all long tail (in my opinon buyer phrases) with 3 or more words and search volumes of 1,000+ local monthly searches in the g k tool.

In my keyword and market research I've noticed a handfull of keyword phrases that are two, even three word phrases that have a huge amount of daily searches 26,000+ and alot of competition. Now knowing that they are not buyer or crisis keyword phrases, and it would probably take a stupid amount of time to rank highly for them, if I could rank at all. I'm wondering if it's a good/bad idea to optimize a 20+ page free info, product review site with 1/4 - 1/3 of the pages optimized for the high search volume/competition keyword phrases, and the remaining pages optimized for lower search volume/competition. With the hope that if I stay on my A game I could one day rank highly for those keyword phrases and utilize that free search engine traffic for expose and maybee repeat visitors for sales.