Looking for ideas or need advice in a new market? Keyword research, market competition, size of the market - can all be discussed here.

What are the definition of markets and niches?

keepittrill
Trust:

What are the definition of markets and niches?

Hi everyone. I'm sure you can indicate by the question that I'm asking that I'm a newbie and you would be correct. I'm hoping someone can shed some light on what the definitions of a market and a niche are and provide me with plenty of examples so that I may relate the examples to the definition. I'm just starting out and trying to figure my path in this what seems like an ever-expanding affiliate marketing world. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
PremiumMember
jmpruitt
Trust:
The two are used interchangeably, however, they can be defined differently depending on who you talk to. this helps to add to the confusion that you feel.

A market can be defined as a specific group of products and information to help solve a defined problem. For example, relationship advice. There are a lot of books, and services on relationship advice. learning the market would consist of learning the information within these products.

A niche is defined as a specific group of people looking for a solution to a specific problem( ie the customers for your market)

within the relationship market there are many niches to target. you can target people looking to get their ex boyfriend back, win back their ex girlfriend, or heal and move on after a breakup. you could be looking to save your marriage after infidelity, or catch a no good cheater in the act.

All of these fit under the relationship market, but the specific problems they are facing require differences in how you market a product to them.