Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

SERP Questions

rcgibbons
Trust:

SERP Questions

I am new to this SEO process but my site has been indexed by Google but I don't show up anywhere in the first 20 something pages of results. Traffic Travis has given my site an A ranking and I have done all I know to do at this point. I am searching and learning more and I know I definitely need more links to and from. My base question is, how long does it take to appear in SERP? My site has been active for about 2 weeks now.
theo
Trust:
What keyword are you trying to rank for?
It depends on many factors:
1-how competitive is your niche
2-the keyword you are trying to rank
3-the PR and Backlinks your competitors have
4-quality of your articles
5-your backlink quality
6-does your keyword appear in your domain name
On-page SEO is only one factor in how Google ranks sites,Off-page is a bit more involved.
You may get into the top 500 but that counts for little, you need to get into the top 10 to see any real traffic to your site, and that takes time and effort for a new site.
Just my 5 cents worth.
"Does your success depend on Luck? - Yes, the harder you work, the luckier you become".

rcgibbons
Trust:
Thanks for the reply!