Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Confusion about H1, H2...tags on a page with multiple posts

bigarsenalbear
Trust:

Confusion about H1, H2...tags on a page with multiple posts

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the world of creating websites and using wordpress and have become totally confused about "H1 tags," "H2 tags" etc.

Here's the background. My wordpress blog home page has 4 posts on it and looks something like this:

Title of first post

First post content

Title of Second post

Second post content

Title of third post

Third post content

Title of fourth post

Fourth post content

Also the post titles are in LARGER font than the content.

Here's what I've been told so far and what I'm confused about:

"Make sure your keyword is in your H1 tag"
"Make sure your keyword is in your H2 tag or H3 tag as well"

Here are my questions/issues/confusions:

(1) How many H1 tags are there?!

Does the whole page (which has 4 posts on it) have a H1 tag? Does each invidivual post have an H1 tag?

Which H1 tag am I supposed to be optimizing?

(2) I'm told that wordpress (which is what I'm using) automatically makes your first post your H1 tag, your second post your H2 tag etc. (Is that right by the way?)

This suggests that to "optimize my H1 and H2 or H3" tags all I have to do is to make sure my first and second (or third) post titles include my keyword

This also suggests that the entire page has an H1, H2 and H3 tag.

But then what about within each post?

I've seen that within each post you can make certain text a Heading 1 or Heading 2.

Does that mean that each post itself has H1, H2 and H3 tags? If so, do I have to include the keywords in these as well?

Thanks for your help. I realize this is probably a newbie's question and may seem pretty stupid to the more experienced!

Adam