Struggling with Adwords or Yahoo Advertising? Find and discuss ways to improve your CPC, ROI or conversion rate. Get advice and share ideas on ad copy.

Newbe trying to set up a PPC campaign

denis1
Trust:

Newbe trying to set up a PPC campaign

Hi everyone,

I just got the Google Cash Detective 2 and am trying to clone an ad that seems to be doing very well.

I am a complete newbie, so I need help. I was trying to do the direct linking but couldn't figure that out so decided to get my own domain name and do a redirect.
I got the domain name through GoDaddy and my host is Hostgator. How in the world do I set that up so my display URL redirects to the page that I need to go to.
Does anyone have any ideas where I can find information for this or can maybe someone help me out. I looked at the video in Affilorama but it didn't tell me how I can do a domain forwarding or masking in Hostgator.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Denis

PremiumMember
davetish
Trust:
Denis,

You don't do forwarding or masking in Hostgator, you do it at Go Daddy. Just select the domain you want to forward or mask and click on "Forward" at the top of the page. That will take you to a page where the process is pretty self-explanatory. You just enter the url that you want your domain to forward to and hit the button. It takes an hour or so to take effect.
denis1
Trust:
Hi Davetish,

Thanks for the quick reply. This forum is great.

I actually did that but it didn't seem to forward. So I thought I needed to do it in Hostgator. In Adwords Editor I click on my "title" this is what it is telling me. "The target url was invalid. Please contact the publisher to get it fixed."

I will go back into Godaddy and see if I can see what I did wrong.

Am I correct in thinking that my hoplink will be the Destination URL? Can I also attach a landing page to the end of my hoplink?

Denis

PremiumMember
davetish
Trust: