Struggling with Adwords or Yahoo Advertising? Find and discuss ways to improve your CPC, ROI or conversion rate. Get advice and share ideas on ad copy.

My Adword Campaign - I'm not making sales - Is this normal?

jtaylor101
Trust:

My Adword Campaign - I'm not making sales - Is this normal?

My first experience promoting an affiliate program with an adword campaign has not been successful. I activated the ad last week and so far have 1035 clicks out of 217,843 impressions with NO SALES. The average cost per click is $0.11 and I am in the red $121.04. Will someone share some advice who has more experience than me? Should I stop the ad campaign? Should I promote a different product? I currently have a domain name redirecting to the affiliate site (Rocket Spanish).

Thanks
John
PremiumMember
promocode
Trust:
Hi John,

Although I'm no Adwords expert, I had some success with it. I can only offer you insight as to what I would do...

because the product that your promoting has a $65.00 commission (aprox) I would definitely pause the campaign to take a look at it. My formula is that I kill any campaign that exceeds the would be profit from 1 sale, so I would have paused it at $65.

Next, I would look at the keywords that your using to make sure they were really targeted towards your best prospects. Your getting a lot of impressions but not so many clicks, so I'd suspect you need to address the keywords that your targeting. I like to start out slowly with my keywords and build them up over time.

The next thing I would do is take a look at the headline, if you're getting that many clicks with no takers your headline, may be offering a benefit that the product sales page doesn't actually confirm. When direct linking to an affilaite page, I want my headline and ad make promises that the sale page will keep.

Hope that helps,
PC
tarraco
Trust: