Looking for ideas or need advice in a new market? Keyword research, market competition, size of the market - can all be discussed here.

Google Keyword Tool Avg Search Volume

cct1109
Trust:

Google Keyword Tool Avg Search Volume

Hi,

Newbie here. Which column I should be paying attention to when I'm using the keyword tool on Google? In the video, Mark talks about the Average Search Volume. These are the headings I see when I put my keywords in (I don't see the Average Search Volume):

Estimated Ad Position
Estimated Avg. CPC
Advertiser Competition
Local Search Volume: April
Global Monthly Search Volume
Search Volume Trends (Jun 2008 - Apr 2009)
Highest Volume Occurred In

If Google's changed it, which column should I use? Or, is there a way to get the Average Search Volume that I'm missing?

Thanks
wollowra
Trust:
It's all important but you should be looking at SEARCH VOLUME.
You want to know how many searches are being done each month.
The higher the better as this most likely means the market is big and there will be alot of customers.

Hope that helps.

Troy
Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize
they were the big things.

-- Robert Brault

cct1109
Trust:
wollowra wrote:It's all important but you should be looking at SEARCH VOLUME.
You want to know how many searches are being done each month.
The higher the better as this most likely means the market is big and there will be alot of customers.

Hope that helps.

Troy

Does it matter which search volume? There's 3:
Local Search Volume: April
Global Monthly Search Volume
Search Volume Trends (Jun 2008 - Apr 2009)

The "Search Volume Trends" shows a bar graph only (no numbers). Does it matter which search volume I use?
wollowra
Trust:
The local column shows search volume data specific to your targeted country and language.
So if you are in the U.S that is the local traffic data.