Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

Help with URL Domain Names

PremiumMember
stevefrank
Trust:

Help with URL Domain Names

As a newbie, I have a question that might seem silly but I'd appreciate any feedback I could get. When picking a url for a site, are hyphens and/or underscores a bad thing. And, if so, is it better to go for the url you want as a .info instead of a .com if it means that you can get it without the hyphen.

For example if I wanted dogtraining101 but it was not available as a .com or a .net, would I be better getting dogtraining101.info or dogtraining-101.com?

Thanks, in advance.
jpastorizo
Trust:
Steve,

The hierarchy is as follows:
.com
.org
.net

without symbols
with hyphens
with number

So on your example it would be something like:
dogtraining.com
dogtraining.org
dogtraining.net

dog-training.com
dog-training.org
dog-training.net

dogtraining101.com
dogtraining101.org
dogtraining101.net

Affilorama moderators, please share your thoughts on this.
Thanks.

Regards,
Renato
HOW WE DID 200K+ ON THE DEADEST MONTH OF ECOMMERCE
WATCH HERE => www.slingly.us/replay

PremiumMember
stevefrank
Trust:
Thanks, Renato. I did some research and found google prefers hyphens to underscores. I wasn't aware of the numbers, however. Thanks for alerting me to that.
jpastorizo
Trust:
Steve, I have never seen any url with underscores. =)

Renato
HOW WE DID 200K+ ON THE DEADEST MONTH OF ECOMMERCE
WATCH HERE => www.slingly.us/replay

PremiumMember
stevefrank
Trust:
Thanks, again, Renato
netfitters
Trust:
Hi Steve,