Struggling with Adwords or Yahoo Advertising? Find and discuss ways to improve your CPC, ROI or conversion rate. Get advice and share ideas on ad copy.

Questions re: PPC and keyword marketing

jacie
Trust:

Questions re: PPC and keyword marketing

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and have actually viewed the Week 1 videos of the "90-day roadmap course" as well as videos under "finding profitable markets and conducting research".

However, i have some qns..

1) What do you mean by pay-per-click markets? Do they refer to those that u have to pay google to get it listed?

2) What if I wanna keeps costs to a minimum, can I simply use overture, the free wordtracker tool and forums to conduct my market research?

3) And what is the main purpose of doing keyword research? Is it to help me choose a topic or to optimize the website that i'm going to create??

I realise keyword research is actually one of the final things that one have to do while choosing a topic is actually the first. Pretty confused there.

Would appreciate any help for my queries! Thank you very much!! :D

Oh btw, do I have to know all about adsense or adwords right at the beginning or can I learn about that later after uploading a site because I'm still at the stage of choosing a topic...

Thank you~!! :)
PremiumMember
chatyak86
Trust:
1) Pay per click refers to a paid form of advertising. You bid on certain keywords and pay "X" amount of cents for a visitor to come to your website through your ad. These are displayed down the right hand side of the search results on Google.

2) Yes you can certainly use those 3 you mentioned to get yourself started. I did and still do.

3) Without keyword research you are going to be creating a site blindly. You will not know what words to go after, which words have a better chance of ranking, and which words get searched. Keyword research is crucial for both SEO and PPC.