Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

Outsourcing web site development

napqueen
Trust:

Outsourcing web site development

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Affilorama, but enjoying the lessons very much!!!!

Have a question about outsourcing... Are there any other downsides to having someone else develope my site through Elance (for example) besides the cost? And what should I expect to pay for a site that has say...10 pages?

Thanks so much.
L
PremiumMember
sean06
Trust:
The only downside is that it costs you money :)

If you're just getting started and have no cash, it might be a better idea to learn how to do it all yourself and when you get going, start hiring designers.

I would also try www.getafreelancer.com, there are a lot more cheaper people there for some reason.
www.SixDayWeekend.com
Free Training Videos reveal how I make 6 figures while travelling the world

Site Admin
markling
Trust:
It really helps if you've at least attempted to make a website yourself first, so you can kind of know what you're wanting. There are a couple of things to watch out for when getting a site developed for you, but they're things you wouldn't think about unless you're already a web designer. So I got one of my designers to put together a "wish list" for hiring a designer. Be aware that this is from a designers perspective, so might be pickier than normal :)

----

1) Will it need ongoing maintenance? A lot of web designers will do things like creating menu buttons out of images, instead of just using styled text, or text with a background image. This means that if you ever want to change your menu item or add a new one, you either need to master an image editing program and learn how to create it yourself, or you need to get the designer back on board to make the button for you.