Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

Landing page "design"?

herbshirt2
Trust:

Landing page "design"?

Hi Guys,

(I come from a web design background)
Why is it you see so many, dare I say, ugly and very long, landing pages?

My guess would be - to grab the visitors attention with big bold bright primary colours (like red and orange and blue altogether!) and are they so long because theres some kind of proven psychology around people not having to click and they just keep reading and reading??? Is it also because google lots of content on the landing page?

If I create a landing page is it recommended that I follow the above style or are people only using that style because they are not designers???

Thanks again.
kiwiboy
Trust:
Hey there herbshirt2,

I am no pro for sure, but I have looked at heeeeaps of those types of long landing page...
and for those with heaps of really good information that you want to read is great ! but the ones with just more of the same hype type tuff saying pretty much the same thing but different are pretty much done ..

and with your design? just do the herbshirt2 thing and let the pro"s here take a look at it...
http://www.affilorama.com/members/premi ... part3.html
but you may want to look at what the boss says on this video

hope this helps

Site Admin
aletta
Trust:
Hey Herb,

This made me laugh. I'm from a web design background too, and yes, there are ugly, long and infomercial-like landing pages out there. And I have been instrumental in a fair few of them myself. And it is pain.