Looking for a program to promote? Found a product but not sure if it is any good? Discuss anything on programs and affiliate networks here.

Is It Wrong to Buy My Own Copy through My Affiliate Link?

magiclady420
Trust:

Is It Wrong to Buy My Own Copy through My Affiliate Link?

Hi. I'm a newbie to affiliate marketing, and in the process of learning so much, I am also finding several affiliate products I would like to buy for myself, either because I personally want or need that product, or in some cases, to test the value of the actual product I'm selling/marketing to others. Is it wrong or deceitful to join affiliate programs for these products, then purchase my own copy through my own affiliate link? I'm not suggesting joining just to buy my own copy, but buying my own copy as a "side benefit" of being affiliate marketer for that product.

Thanks for reading!
MagicLady420

PremiumMember
crystal01
Trust:
Hi,

From my understanding most affiliate companies frown upon it and it may result in you being dismissed as an affiliate.

In the terms of some affiliate contracts, it will be expressly stated one way or the other.
wollowra
Trust:
Hi,
It depends on the company / merchant you're dealing with.
If you buy from Clickbank then it is ok, but keep in mind that you will not get a commission after the first sale using the smae CC as they monitor the credit cards you use.
Clickbank do have a policy about having to have 4 separate credit card number payments to get paid.
This minimizes the chance of people using their own Credit card for buying their own products for there first few purchases.
For other merchants you will need to read their TOS. ( Terms of service )

Regards
Troy
Last edited by michellerana on 16 Oct 09 6:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize
they were the big things.

-- Robert Brault

PremiumMember
sean06
Trust: