Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Creating Blogs to get Back Links, is that ok?

acetennisclub
Trust:

Creating Blogs to get Back Links, is that ok?

Newbie here,

I have a few questions.

1. I just wanted to hear if anyone has created their own blogs to get Back Links to their main website?
2. Could I create multiple blogs on subdomains and then create Back Links?
3. Would it be bad if a blog had for example 30 Back Links to a website with the same anchor text?

Thanks for your Help
Jay
jjperkins
Trust:
Hi,
yes, we have created a few of our own blogs as our own mini-network for backlinks. It's still only in its infancy but does seem to help, as just a part of the backlink building of course.

2) You want your support blogs to be on relevant domains, or subdomains, and spread out over different hosting accounts. If they were all on the same domain or IP address Google would just discount them anyway.

3) It depends on what proportion of the total outbound links from that site those 30 would be. On a new blog, with no history and no other outbound links it would look distinctly odd and Google would probably discount them altogether.
I use a couple with my main keyword and a couple more with variants I'm targetting, and make sure that there are other outbound links to related sites.

This is one of the advantages of building a few sites within the same niche, it makes building your own support network easier and more worthwhile.

HTH, Jillian

jcdean
Trust:
I have been using traffic travis to spy on a few successful marketers,

I was to surprised when I "researched" Ryan Moran's site (A well known marketer/guru) and found that most of his links to Ryan's reviews (his money site) come from his personal blog (Ryan Moran dot org)

Ryan's reviews is ranking for some very tough key words like "Drop shipping companies" and "Worldwide brands."