Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

Newbie confusion -How does all in one seo work ?

chants
Trust:

Newbie confusion -How does all in one seo work ?

Hi

I am a bit confused about the all in one seo plugin and how it works. I am a newbie setting up my first sites. My confusion is this..

1. In the Wordpress setup there is a field in the "add post " for a title ( in which I have included my keyword , which is also the keyword of my domain )... then once I installed the all in one seo plugin , there is another field for a title ( in this I also used the main keyword as well as some other text ) My question... do these two have to be the same or can they be different ... and what is the purpose of each ? how are they different in function ?

2.Then in the setting fields there is a site title ( which I used the keyword ) and a tagline ( which I used to describe the site ) I understand that the tagline and title is what appears in the google listing ... is this correct ?But my query is that in the all in one seo plugin fields there is another field for seo description. Do I understand that this is the meta description ?Here I put the keyword in again with a description of the site. My query is in what way is this different from the description in the tagline... do the two have to be the same and in what practical way are they different... what is the difference in purpose of each ? Do they have to be the same ?

Thanks in advance for your help

Chantelle
PremiumMember
jmpruitt
Trust:
Hi Chantelle,

The info on the settings tab and in the All iN One SEO should be the same info. The All in one seo will override the defualt settings tab for your home page titile and description/tag line. The main title of your blog will be what shows up in search results for your home page, but it is also what will show up as the page title in the browser tabs.