Just want to chat? Talk some smack. If it doesn't fit into one of the areas below then you'll be posting here (Note: Please try and find the best section before posting here)

Why Not Focus on Untapped Niches?

niterider
Trust:

Why Not Focus on Untapped Niches?

Hello. I'm new to Affilorama and have been devouring all the info you guys have on here over these past few days. The way the site is laid out with the (basically) step by step instructions is exactly what I've been looking for.

I do have one question regarding the choice of a niche to promote. Pretty much over and over again it's suggested that an affiliate choose items to promote (such as on Clickbank) that are in a popular niche. Niches such as weight loss, relationships, dating, dog training etc. I keep wondering why it wouldn't make more sense to try to discover a niche that has great potential for sales, is a relatively little known market but has consistent customer demand and would be easier to gain a higher ranking in the search engines? Rather than competing against thousands of other people trying to promote the same products. I'm new to this and don't doubt that the suggestions given are the best way to do it, I'm just curious as to why. Thanks!
Site Admin
aletta
Trust:
Hey Niterider,

That's a really good question.

The reason we recommend you look for niches that are already popular is that you KNOW it's possible to make money.

Until you've got a lot of experience as an affiliate and as an online marketer, it's very hard to know ahead of time whether an "undiscovered" niche will end up being profitable for you or not. You could end up investing a lot of time (and potentially a lot of money) into a niche that just... kinda... fizzles.

Once you've got a bit more experience, you'll be able to use your spidey senses to spot niches with huge untapped potential, but until you're a pro... it's a really risky thing to do.