Just want to chat? Talk some smack. If it doesn't fit into one of the areas below then you'll be posting here (Note: Please try and find the best section before posting here)

Is Affiliate Marketing Dying? - Truthfully?

mattdrish
Trust:

Is Affiliate Marketing Dying? - Truthfully?

I have been researching some of the potential issues with affiliate marketing, and I am wondering if affiliate marketing is truly dying. It seems as though it's hard to deny. However, I am not an expert in the field. I will be playing the Devil's advocate in this post; so please keep that in mind when you respond.

For your consideration: The Affiliate Marketing Dilemma:

Anti-virus software and browsers:
-More and more, anti-spyware/adware/virus programs, as well as browsers, are beginning to add functionalities that delete or block cookies and tracking cookies in almost any form. Cookies are, of course, necessary to track affiliate commissions. Some people claim that cookies will still be needed, but If Google Chrome has taught me anything, it is that browser based functions like autofill could easily replace, in part, the need for cookies.

"Taxation without representation":
-States are continuing to hop on the taxation bandwagon, forcing affiliate sales to consider state-related tax laws. This means that companies will be forced to pay taxes (based on the state) for all sales that come from affiliates. Due to the complexity of trying to calculate different sales taxes -> based on each affiliate -> based on the state they ship to, companies such as Amazon have opted to simply delete their affiliate program for any state in question that is passing the law. Example: Every Amazon affiliate in Illinois lost their job at the drop of a pin. Furthermore, due to the intricacies of affiliate marketing, the government doesn't seem to understand that it is digging its own grave.