Affilorama Birthday
Just want to chat? Talk some smack. If it doesn't fit into one of the areas below then you'll be posting here (Note: Please try and find the best section before posting here)

How do I legally organize my business and websites?

crowzy
Trust:

How do I legally organize my business and websites?

Hello everybody,

I am a newbie from Brisbane, Australia and I joined Affilorama last year (it sounds much better than 2-3 weeks ago, doesn't it? lol). Since then I've been very busy reading, watching videos and learning more about AM.

I am already working on my first ever website and hopefully it will be ready for publishing by the end of this month.
This is a huge challenge to me but I am sure that with some help from you guys everything will be fine.

The whole concept of affiliate marketing is not something new to me as I've been exploring this field for the last 3-4 years and for 10 months now I've been playing with Google's Adwords. I finally decided to get really serious about whole thing and that's why I am here.

The first problem I am facing at the moment (I wish it was the only one lol) is how to legally organize myself. I contacted a few different Government Departments here in Australia but whenever I mention the term "Affiliate" they suddenly become more confused than I am.

One lady told me that a Business Number is all I need and after that I can publish as many websites under my name as I want.
A lady from another Government Department said that whatever I do under a name which is different from my own name (and that includes domain names) is illegal unless I register that name as my Business Name.
In other words if I have 10 or 20 websites (domains) I should register every single one of them as a separate business name.

Which one of these 2 comments (if any) is true ?
Any input would be highly appreciated.

I wish you all a Happy and Prosperous New 2007. Year.

Cheers
PremiumMember
sean06
Trust:
hey crowzy,