Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

When To Apply A No Follow Link?

juderm
Trust:

I am new to internet marketing and working on my first few sites. On my development of my sites one of them was ranking top page before in the Google search after a few weeks and went few pages down on and off. I asked many advise on a good solution to solve this problem. I came across a great forum site. I got an advise from them that I that should put a NO FOLLOW html code which is "rel="nofollow" to my affiliate product links. I am not sure how effective is this to my site. Does this mean that if I don't apply this it will affect my site's rankings negatively?

Why do I have to put this code?
Do you ever do the same in your site's pages?
What is the meaning of this to put a no follow?

I will really appreciate your answers. Thanks a lot!
esolutions
Trust:
Hi,

While not necessary and arguably irrelevant depending on who you ask, adding No Follow to your affiliate links basically nulls your "vote" for the link in question and does not allow pagerank to be passed.

Another way to look at it is, imagine that you have two links on your page. One goes to a cool site that you found and really like and recommending it to others is not for compensation, it's just something that you think is genuinely cool. So you setup a normal link and tell the search engines that this is a good site that you "vote" for and they should check out/add the vote to increase that site's rankings.

The other link is to something that you are promoting (affiliate link) so even though this should be something cool that you recommend as well, by placing the No Follow tag on the link, you are acknowledging to Google that there could be a conflict of interest (since you are compensated for promotion) and therefore they shouldn't consider your link as a valid "vote" of confidence.

Long story short, use No Follow on affiliate links.