What is the matter with www.socialmarker.com?!
-
bigarsenalbear
- Posts: 65
- Joined: 08 May 11
- Trust:
06 Oct 11 4:20 pm
What is the matter with www.socialmarker.com?!
Hey everyone,
I'm trying to bookmark my site using www.socialmarker.com
But when I try to do it a big warning page comes up saying:
www.socialmarker.com contains content from lsiokhx.co.tv, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found that malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed.
Can someone explain this to me? (I'm a total newbie to internet marketing and social bookmarking)
Surely a big, presumably trusted site like socialmarker.com doesn't spread viruses?!
Has anyone else experienced this issue with socialmarker.com?
What should I do?
Thanks
Adam
I'm trying to bookmark my site using www.socialmarker.com
But when I try to do it a big warning page comes up saying:
www.socialmarker.com contains content from lsiokhx.co.tv, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found that malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed.
Can someone explain this to me? (I'm a total newbie to internet marketing and social bookmarking)
Surely a big, presumably trusted site like socialmarker.com doesn't spread viruses?!
Has anyone else experienced this issue with socialmarker.com?
What should I do?
Thanks
Adam
-
newstart - Posts: 268
- Joined: 01 Jan 10
- Location: United States
- Trust:
06 Oct 11 4:47 pm
As the statement indicated the website may have been attacked by a hacker placing a virus on the site. This will be corrected when they determine the methodology they need to take to purge their site of the problem virus. Until then I believe it is wise to heed the warning and not use the site.
If you know the support email address it might be adviseable to notify them of the problem. They may currently be unaware of what has happened to their site.
There are individuals that spend countless hours building viruses to infect other websites. This activity has created an entire internet industry devoted to stopping viruses.
Margene
If you know the support email address it might be adviseable to notify them of the problem. They may currently be unaware of what has happened to their site.
There are individuals that spend countless hours building viruses to infect other websites. This activity has created an entire internet industry devoted to stopping viruses.
Margene
-
Cecille L - Posts: 2087
- Joined: 25 Feb 11
- Location: Philippines
- Trust:
07 Oct 11 8:48 am
Hi Adam,
I tried used Socialmarker just now (I bookmarked Affilorama) and I got a warning from my anti-virus that they blocked a trojan virus coming from Socialmarker's site. This is the error:
URL: http://smaknews.com/submit.php?url
Process: file://C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
Infection: html:Iframe-PF [Trj]
I suggest you notify the technical team or support group of Socialmarker. I looked in their FAQs and Blog and there is nothing there that mentions someone having the same error. I also recommend you to stop using their system for now as I think it has been compromised.
I tried used Socialmarker just now (I bookmarked Affilorama) and I got a warning from my anti-virus that they blocked a trojan virus coming from Socialmarker's site. This is the error:
URL: http://smaknews.com/submit.php?url
Process: file://C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
Infection: html:Iframe-PF [Trj]
I suggest you notify the technical team or support group of Socialmarker. I looked in their FAQs and Blog and there is nothing there that mentions someone having the same error. I also recommend you to stop using their system for now as I think it has been compromised.
Cecille
Download the FREE "How to Find Profitable Niches Report" : http://www.affilorama.com/affiloblueprint/v3
Add us on Google Plus: http://www.affilorama.com/googleplus
Download the FREE "How to Find Profitable Niches Report" : http://www.affilorama.com/affiloblueprint/v3
Add us on Google Plus: http://www.affilorama.com/googleplus
-
bigarsenalbear
- Posts: 65
- Joined: 08 May 11
- Trust:
07 Oct 11 9:03 am
Hi Cecille and Margene,
Thanks for your kind and helpful replies.
I must say I find it extremely irritating when idiots make viruses and mess things up for normal people.
I will follow your advice and not use the site until it has been fixed. I've contacted them via email to let them know of the issue.
Thanks again
Adam
Thanks for your kind and helpful replies.
I must say I find it extremely irritating when idiots make viruses and mess things up for normal people.
I will follow your advice and not use the site until it has been fixed. I've contacted them via email to let them know of the issue.
Thanks again
Adam
-
Cecille L - Posts: 2087
- Joined: 25 Feb 11
- Location: Philippines
- Trust:
10 Oct 11 9:26 am
Hi Adam,
You're welcome! :)
What I could suggest is to focus on other link building strategies for the meantime. You might also want to go through this blog post about link building methods for this year
Hope that helps. Have a good day!
You're welcome! :)
What I could suggest is to focus on other link building strategies for the meantime. You might also want to go through this blog post about link building methods for this year
Hope that helps. Have a good day!
Cecille
Download the FREE "How to Find Profitable Niches Report" : http://www.affilorama.com/affiloblueprint/v3
Add us on Google Plus: http://www.affilorama.com/googleplus
Download the FREE "How to Find Profitable Niches Report" : http://www.affilorama.com/affiloblueprint/v3
Add us on Google Plus: http://www.affilorama.com/googleplus
