Want to work your way up in SERPs? Get and share ideas on link building, on/off page optimizing, social SEO and more.

How Do I Get Traffic From Forums?

reikiwonders
Trust:

How Do I Get Traffic From Forums?

I'm new to this. I've got my site up and running, created a FB, Twitter and Google+. I haven't done any paid advertising as yet. I have been told you can promote your website through blogs/forums etc, by answering questions, offering support etc. My niche is health/weight loss etc.

I've run into a road block so to speak. The sites I looked into registering with have terms and conditions. YOU CANNOT USE THEIR FORUM TO ADVERTISE YOUR WEBSITE OR ANY PRODUCTS FOR MONETARY GAIN. Yes they even have it in capital letters! I'm sure I'd be kicked off if I even tried.

Has any one else run into this? Any suggestions please?

Thank you,

Connie
vivianr330
Trust:
Have you looked at the signature for people who post on the forum? If they have a signature with a link back to their site, then you can probably do the same. It could be that they don't want postings that are purely sales-type of posts.
kallayprasanth05
Trust:
vivianr330 wrote:Have you looked at the signature for people who post on the forum? If they have a signature with a link back to their site, then you can probably do the same. It could be that they don't want postings that are purely sales-type of posts.

Yes, true. What is meant is 'spamming via forums'. There are some members that make just a post or two in reputed forums with the sole intention of selling their product or service. This amounts to nothing but spamming. A growing affiliate marketer should certainly desist from such a practice.
Site Admin
aletta
Trust:
At the same time don't be one of those people who goes into a forum and posts some useless comment ("Good comment, I totally agree") just to get your footer links in front of faces.

Gah. I freaking hate that, and I will ban people from this forum if I smell that in their forum posts.