Looking for some creative inspiration for your promotions? Find and suggest ideas for marketing and building your affiliate campaigns.

Giving your pen name a face?

emorhail
Trust:

Giving your pen name a face?

Hi there,

I ´ve got a short question here. A couple of weaks ago Mark and
some other guys from the webinars assured that there is nothing wrong
with choosing a pen name for your niche in order to maintain privacy
(esp. when u re in several niches...).

Now I wonder if adding a picture which is not mine to the publishers
name would be unethical or even a legal issue? What is your opinion
regarding this?

Thanks in advance

kind regards
Enrico
PremiumMember
gradyp
Trust:
Enrico,

I'm not a lawyer, and not very knowledgeable about these things, but I'm pretty sure that if it is a cartoon figure (or something similar) that you drew or had drawn for you, that there is no problem. Using someone else's likeness and claiming it as your own is different, so I would check out what can and can't be done with a lawyer there (or at least someone who knows these things better than I do).

Hope this helps somewhat.

Grady
Have questions about creating images? Want an image created for you? Check out my site at www.GradyPruitt.com/welcome-affilorama-friends

wollowra
Trust:
Hi Enrico,
I would usually advise against this.
I don't know if it is Illegal or not but most stock photo sites state you cannot use any of their people pictures as if they were endorsing a product.
I also think you will find that Models etc, will want a very hefty fee to use their likeness endorsing any product.
So, best to just use the pen name in my opinion.
Why run the risk of some legal issues down the track. Play it safe with this one.
Regards
Troy
Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize
they were the big things.

-- Robert Brault

emorhail
Trust: