Home » Affilorama forum » Affiliate Hangout » Individual Product links questions
Just want to chat? Talk some smack. If it doesn't fit into one of the areas below then you'll be posting here (Note: Please try and find the best section before posting here)

Individual Product links questions

jab676
Trust:

Individual Product links questions

Hi, so I'm just starting out, got my idea, my niche sorted and I have a practical question that I haven't been able to find an answer to elsewhere. So my site is going to mainly be comprised of links to individual product- so I have two questions:

1)Do you have to select from the individual product links merchants provide? Example- say on a book site, I want to promote a specific book in my site that I've identified I want to sell- do merchants typically give out a general code for any of their products on their site to renumerate you, or do I have to scroll through the list of individual product links that the likes of Linkshare provide to see if the merchant is willing to renumerate me on that particular book? So I guess what I'm asking, is if a retailer participates in an affiliate program and allows individual product linking do they typically curate a selection of all their products for you to choose from, or do they allow you the pick of their entire site?

2) Where you have a site almost entirely comprised of individual product links- when you sign up to get approval from retailers to be a part of their program they ask for a copy of your URL for your website- in this instance its a bit chicken and egg, because you don't have a site unless they allow you to participate in their program- does anyone else have this experience and have they just provided a site behind a firewall for approval and were retailers ok with that, or just made the site live using retailers products anyway and then got the approvals then? I guess Im trying to understand how difficult it is to get the retailers approvals..